The Unfamiliar Territory

I was over on the East side of town yesterday, having made it there underground from the North end of town. I was totally and utterly discombobulated, and when I emerged into the bright, warm, sunshiny day, I couldn’t help but feel a little bit out of place. It is March, but the sun was so warm I de-parka-ed, and was walking in places I had never walked. I started to think about the things I wanted in that moment to make me feel at home in the unfamiliar territory. A latte. Anything can be cured with a latte. I racked my brain trying to conjure up a memory of an article or something that could inform me of which direction to take to find the precious beverage… alas, I was running out of time and just had to walk in the direction I was meant to go, no lallygagging. Five minutes later, there in the distance I saw the telling wooden benches, the picture windows, ecotainer take out cups, and the glow of not only an apple from someone’s laptop,  but also the unmistakable glow of the Elektra. The espresso machine that I depend on every morning to give me my fix, has a cousin on the other side of the Bloor Viaduct. Who knew? Broadview Espresso is a sweet little place, with hot, disengaged baristas, people with laptops, and exactly what I needed to take the edge off. It was comfy, I knew the script, and didn’t surprise me at all that by walking a few blocks into a residential neighbourhood in the Toronto core, I would find what I was looking for. I actually giggled when I saw it and about how I had almost conjured the place in my mind only moments earlier. Pretty decent latte too. Tight microfoam, fancy latte art leaf, and rich flavour.

Broadview Espresso

4 responses to “The Unfamiliar Territory

  1. Every summer for about four years, I’ve declared that I am learning the east end. Then, I don’t.

    We both have bicycles with baskets, and we have nice smiles, and we have ambition and intent, haha.

    Want to make it a summer mission that really happens this time?

  2. foodandpassion

    YES.

  3. on a saturday morning in the summer, ‘broadview espresso’ is a fun place to hop off your bike and have a quick coffee before you continue on your way to the brickwork’s farmers market. its on the way to pottery road which is the best (but still scary!) way to bike down to the market.

    thats my two cents.

    • foodandpassion

      OOOooo great idea Anthony. I look forward to the Brickworks opening again and all of their HUGE new developments! I’d love to ride over with you one beautiful Saturday morning!

Leave a Reply

