I wish I had a mom who made dumplings…

Today friends and I went for a celebratory dumpling snack session at the newly located Mother’s Dumplings. My very excited friends have just bought a house, and wanted to tell me the news in person, over coffee, about this BIG step. I am so proud of them, and can’t actually get my head around the fact that my contemporaries are buying houses, but that’s besides the point. (Last night my very dear old friend from Georgia also told me that she had bought a house in a subdivision in the suburbs of Atlanta, complete with two car garage…so very different scenarios, but it seems to be a burgeoning theme…).

Steamed Dumplings

So, food, of course, to celebrate. As we were already in the market, Kensington that is, we decided to head over to Spadina and check out the new location and test out the scrumptious little dumplings. It took us all of about 2 minutes to read the menu, decide on a smattering of yummy sounding dishes, and then gab about the house and life until our order was brought to our table, freshly rolled, filled, and pinched.

We shared “Boiled Vegetarian Chives and Noodles Dumplings”, “Steamed Vegetarian (bak choi, mushroom, tofu) Dumplings”, “Smashed Cucumber Salad”, and “Da-lu noodles (meatless option)” and “Wonton (northern style) Soup”. Unfortunately there is liberal use of cilantro at Mother’s Dumplings, which I wasn’t expecting and which I loathe, as a garnish on many of the non-dumpling dishes. The Smashed salad that I was so intrigued by from the listing on the menu was inedible because of those delicate green leaves, and I couldn’t partake in the Da-lu or Wonton Soup, so I’ll refrain from commenting on those. My friends seemed to like them very much, for what it’s worth, albeit they did add a lot of hot sauce, soya sauce, vinegar, and chili oil to everything.

But the DUMPLINGS! O My My, they were good. Three ladies worked side by side at the same counter churning out the pretty packages. One made the balls of dough for the skins, the next lady rolled them out and the third lady filled and pinched them closed. Filled up generously in 18 different variations, there’s something for everyone (as long as you can eat wheat). Customers also have the option of taking the little parcels home as take out, or frozen.

I wish I had had more time to watch the ladies in the kitchen work their magic through the glass pane that kept us apart, but had to eat and run.

Avoid the tea which smells and tastes like moth balls. Do eat the dumplings.

Dipping Sauce Preparations

Gregory’s Special Dipping Sauce Concoction

1 1/2 Tbsp Soya Sauce

1 tsp Vinegar

1 tsp chili oil

Mix in the appropriate little dish and use to dip your dumplings. (If not spicy enough, Gregory also suggests using “cock sauce” or Sriracha)

Leave a Reply

