Scienterrifying

It’s been a month since I wrote my last post, and I have a good excuse. I’ve been studying. Trying my hand at science. I’m not in the journal writing, glorified self-help groups of my honours bachelor of arts anymore. In preparation for a career change, I am obliged to get back to basics, use my brain in ways it hasn’t been used for 13 years. Forging new neural pathways over and under those that have hardened with neglect. It hurts. Really, my brain hurts from attempting to understand this stuff. That all being said, I came across a short passage in one of my textbooks which actually resonated. Something that actually seemed somewhat relevant to my life, piqued a sense of relief as it was illuminated by my most recently exercised frame of reference. It is no recipe, a far cry from a press release, barely resembles a blog post, and it sure as hell isn’t poetic, but it made me feel at ease for a fleeting moment between page 315 and 343. I still have no idea what it means, but I thought I’d share it with you.“Many of the fruits and grains we eat are polyploid plants. For example, the species of wheat that we use to make bread, Triticum aestivuum, is an allohexaploid (containing six sets of chromosomes) that likely arose form the union of diploid genomes from three closely related species. During the course of its evolution, two diploid species must have interbred to create a sterile allodiploid species hybrid that underwent some spontaneous chromosome doubling to create a fertile allotetraploid. Later, this tetraploid wheat hybridized with a third diploid to create a sterile allotiploid species hybrid that then underwent another doubling to create an allohexaploid wheat that is the ancestor of modern hexaploid wheat.”

Um…. come again? I thought it was just that Monsanto-like god-players orchestrate all of this to happen and we’re left with Frankenfood. With all of the -ploids in the passage, I feel like my previous understanding still holds, and I’ll just continue to use Red Fife Wheat to bake my bread, thank you very much.

One response to “Scienterrifying

  1. I tried to understand it, but got bogged down in all the “oids”!

Leave a Reply

